The Von Der Ahe Library at Loyola Marymount University has undergone an extreme makeover: the once staid and quiet library has become a bustling center of campus activity. After several months of renovations, the newly christened Charles Von Der Ahe Building opened the first week of January, just a few days before the arrival of students for the spring 2011 semester.
Von Der Ahe went dark after the completion of the William H. Hannon Library in the summer of 2009. This past fall, the former library's interior was gutted while the shell was preserved. Campus tours during the fall months offered glimpses of the remodeling, but anyone with a distinct memory of the campus library that opened in 1959 may be amazed by the changes.
The campus bookstore, filled with anything a student could need and an alumnus or alumna could want, is in the basement and seems big enough to get lost in. With space for myriad administrative offices and departments that serve current students and alumni, the building doubled its floor space without expanding the building’s footprint. Alumni Relations, Annual Giving, Undergraduate Admission, Student Financial Services, Study Abroad, Financial Aid, the Office of the Registrar — all have been relocated from their former digs around the campus to a new home on Alumni Mall. Conference rooms, small kitchenettes and amazing views make the new environment useful and beautiful.
Also calling the Von Der Ahe Building home are the One Card office, International Outreach and Student Affairs, which includes: First Year Experience; Off-Campus Student Life; Office for International Students and Scholars; Parent Programs; The Learning Community; and transfer programs.
The entrance to the Alumni Center in the Charles Von Der Ahe Building is on Palm Walk, the walkway between the building itself and St. Roberts Hall. Alumni are invited to stop by the center Jan. 29, after the Homecoming game against Santa Clara. Go here for more about the day’s events.
Posted Jan. 17, 2011