> Loyola Marymount University > The Buzz: University News > New Professional Award Goes to LMU Housing Director


Tool Box


Print  print

RSS Feed  RSS feed

Email  email  

Bookmark and Share  share

New Professional Award Goes to LMU Housing Director

An association of university housing professionals has recognized AJ LaPan of Loyola Marymount University as its New Professional of the Year. LaPan, completing his third year as a resident director at LMU, was nominated for the award by his supervisors in the Student Housing Office. The Western Association of Colleges and University Housing Officers honors professionals who have worked in the field for five years or less.

AJ LaPan, housing“AJ’s enthusiasm for building community, his attention to detail and his leadership are among his strongest qualities,” said Lorianne Harrison-Reyes, director of residence life at LMU. “As a supervisor and mentor, he has the enthusiasm and patience to guide and teach the students.”

As a resident director, LaPan oversaw about eight residence advisers each year along with approximately 230 residents. The job required a working knowledge of many fields, and LaPan has completed LMU’s professional development courses and extensive training in such areas as crisis and safety management, the Los Angeles CERT training, health and psychological services.

LaPan was recently promoted to the First Year Programming Office, where he works on retention efforts focused on first-year students and  and with Living Learning communities. He tracks the progress of first-year students, and he will serve as instructor of a liberal arts course for one of the university’s living learning communities. In addition, LaPan has been involved with  the Division of Student Affairs’ Mission and Identity Committee, among other committees, panels and projects.

“I’m really glad I got to work with so many student leaders,” LaPan said. “Those interactions and building those relationships were the most rewarding part of the position.”

 LaPan received his award June 21, 2010, at the association’s annual conference at Stanford University in Palo Alto, Calif.

Posted June 21, 2010