> Loyola Marymount University > The Buzz: University News > LMU.EDU and iLMU Official Honorees at Webby Awards


Tool Box


Print  print

RSS Feed  RSS feed

Email  email  

Bookmark and Share  share

LMU.EDU and iLMU Official Honorees at Webby Awards

LMU.EDU and iLMU Official Honorees at the 12th Annual Webby Awards

The Webby Awards, the leading international honor for the Web, recognized Loyola Marymount University’s LMU.edu and iLMU Web sites as Official Honorees, a distinction that recognizes work exhibiting remarkable achievement.

Hailed as the “OSCARS® of the Internet” by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet, including Websites, Interactive Advertising, Online Film & Video, and Mobile Websites. The awards are judged by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a global organization that includes David Bowie, Harvey Weinstein, Arianna Huffington, Matt Groening, Jamie Oliver, Internet inventor Vinton Cerf, and RealNetworks CEO Rob Glaser.

“The Webby Awards honors the outstanding work that is setting the standards for the Internet,” said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. “The selection of both LMU.edu and iLMU as Official Honorees is a testament to the skill, ingenuity and vision of its creators.”

The 12th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from more than 60 countries and all 50 states.

“I am pleased that LMU and iLMU were recognized with these honors,” said John Kiralla, director of Web, New Media and Design. “We were the only university that was honored twice and that is truly a reflection of the university’s commitment to creating a world-class Web presence. I believe that LMU.edu and iLMU represent the best of breed for innovation, interactivity and design and it is rewarding for us that the Webbys agree we are among the best.”

The project team included Marissa Contreras, senior web manager; Glenn Cratty, university photographer; Kelly Fite, graphic designer; John Kiralla, director and project chair; Tony Limon, web manager; Amy Meredith, web manager; Maureen Pacino, associate director; Ben Sullivan, senior web manager; and design partners from Fluidesign and Sense Media.