> Loyola Marymount University > The Buzz: University News > AAAA Scholarship Recipient Aims for Oval Office


Tool Box


Print  print

RSS Feed  RSS feed

Email  email  

Bookmark and Share  share

AAAA Scholarship Recipient Aims for Oval Office

Ramirez-HoldenAs a child, Jessyka Ramirez-Holden thought she wanted to become a doctor. But after many heated political debates with her father, Ramirez-Holden realized that politics would be a better fit. Now, as a junior political science major and Spanish minor, Ramirez-Holden has her eyes set on the White House.

“My ultimate goal is to become president of the United States. This election has shown me that nothing is impossible,” Ramirez-Holden said.

As a recipient of the African American Alumni (AAAA) Scholarship, Ramirez-Holden said it has allowed her to devote more time to her studies and to become more involved in activities on campus instead of having to work. 

AAAA scholarships are awarded to select students who meet the criteria of having an unmet financial need, and who demonstrate leadership through their service to the LMU community and in their extra-curricular activities. Ramirez-Holden is currently the secretary for Gryphon Circle, a service organization, a resident adviser in McKay, the Black Student Union community service coordinator, and works at First Year Experience, a retention program for freshmen.

“I’m honored to be a recipient of this scholarship; it shows how much the black community cares about us to have our own scholarship fund,” Ramirez-Holden said.

Before running for president, Ramirez-Holden wants to continue giving back to the community through service work. She began volunteering in high school but her commitment to service was solidified at LMU.

“When I came to LMU I noticed how passionate everyone was about service. [That] motivated me to get into action, and share in the passion for justice I witnessed on campus,” Ramirez-Holden said.

The African American Alumni Association’s seventh annual scholarship fundraiser will be Saturday, Feb. 21, at the Marriott Marina del Rey. Distinguished alumni Harold Brooks ’70, Stephen Duncan, MFA ’79 and Frank Key ’96 will be honored, and the 2008-2009 scholarship recipients will be recognized. For more information, click here.