> Loyola Marymount University > The Buzz: University News > 4th Group of Education Doctorates Awarded


Tool Box


Print  print

RSS Feed  RSS feed

Email  email  

Bookmark and Share  share

4th Group of Education Doctorates Awarded

The fourth Loyola Marymount University cohort to earn their doctoral degrees is a group of professionals determined to make a difference in how children are educated.

Doctoral candidates - 2010The 10 educators came to LMU’s School of Education from a variety of backgrounds: one is a principal at a Catholic school, another is a director of student activities and English teacher, others hold administrative positions. What brought them together was the opportunity to put education ideals into action, to commit themselves to making K-12 instruction better for all children.

“This cohort really integrated the relationship between theory and practice,” said Shane Martin, dean of the School of Education. “They took seriously the mission of social justice, and their dissertations reflect that.”

Doctoral degrees were conferred on Michael Farber, Anthony Galla, Liam Joyce, Marianne Mitchell, Olga Moraga, Jayne Quinn, Amy Radovcic, David Scozzaro, Jonathan Sison and Carlos Valverde.

LMU’s Ed.D. in Educational Leadership for Social Justice is designed for superintendents, principals, policymakers, leaders of nonprofit organizations, community leaders and other education professionals. Candidates in the program begin their research on the first day and are encouraged to focus their studies on real-world issues facing schools and society. LMU has conferred 41 doctorates since 2005; 68 candidates are working toward their degrees.

For more information about the doctoral program at the School of Education, click here.

Posted May 11, 2010